Audio probe questions

Started by Adamo, October 21, 2014, 08:32:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adamo

I'm having a blast debugging a couple of pedals (one old, one new build) with an audio probe. I have a couple of questions: is it normal when using a probe and touching one leg of a resistor that you get a loud, clear sound passing but on the other leg it is much quieter?

Also, when probing a transistor, it seems like I get 'sound' when touching the base but not on the collector or the emitter. Is this expected?

armdnrdy

Is this the A8 that you're audio probing?
I just designed a new fuzz circuit! It almost sounds a little different than the last fifty fuzz circuits I designed! ;)

Adamo

No, not yet. Coincidentally, I just finished a GGG FoxxTone that's not working either so I'm starting with that one. I'm pretty new at this stuff and I suspect I have some cold solder joints. I'm going to debug the A8 next. The audio probe is a pretty neat little tool.

Adamo

I'll simplify my question--------when testing components with an audio probe in a 'working' pedal, should I get 'sound' on all legs of all components on the board? And...should the sound be of the same volume?

armdnrdy

No and No.

Post a schematic or a link to what your debugging..and we'll clue you into where you should probe to find the signal.
I just designed a new fuzz circuit! It almost sounds a little different than the last fifty fuzz circuits I designed! ;)

Adamo

Here's the schematic for the Ampeg A8 analog delay . Supposedly this Guyatone is the same schematic:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53299166/DIYstompboxes/Guyatone%20-%20PS-006%20-%20schematic.jpg

The pedal is giving me a clean signal when the pedal is engaged or not. No delay whatsoever. I wiggled and checked all components. Led seems to work properly.

GibsonGM