First Post, first build

Started by hesamadman, November 06, 2014, 09:19:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hesamadman

Hey guys. Im new to pedals. Been building tube amps for a while. Im trying to learn the similarities and differences in using IC/transistors. I designed a small simple circuit and having some issues. heres what I got.

I made a very simple overdrive pedal on my breadboard. This is the first one ive done. Once I plugged in guitar. It had an amazing overdrive tone but LOTS OF NOISE. Now I got rid of the noise two ways. One way got rid of all the noise except a very low volume high pitch scream. I put an electrolytic cap from positive to negative on my power supply. Like a filter cap. Like I mentioned....most noise gone....not all. Second way I added various values of resistors between the pedal and the 9 volt power supply. This eliminated the noise all together but also acted as a noise suppressor on steroids. If i plucked the strings hard it played the notes but if I barely hit the strings no noise came out.

My signal goes as follows.

input -> .047 cap -> pin 3 lm386 (in) -> out of pin 5 lm386 -> 220uf cap (ive used many values) -> output

LM386- pin 2 and 4 ground, pin 6 9v+

I do not have any diode clipping after pin 5 of lm386. I put them on and doesnt even seam to be altering sound. Nor do I have a resistor to ground after pin 5. Same scenario. No real change. My goal was to add more to this circuit once I get this cleaned up.

armdnrdy

I just designed a new fuzz circuit! It almost sounds a little different than the last fifty fuzz circuits I designed! ;)

hesamadman

knutolai

Whats the value of the cap between positive and negative on your supply? Depending on the PSU you are using you might need more powerfiltering. Try a 47u electrolytic and 100n ceramic cap in parallel.
Also a schematic with labeled components illustrating your circuit would be nice. That way its easier to help out.  

hesamadman