Help modifying MXR Noise Clamp

Started by johnr, December 29, 2014, 05:19:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnr

I should preface this question by saying I'm a novice at electronics. I'm good at soldering and understand some basics, but that's about it. I've read posts on this board from time to time to better understand what's going on inside my gear, but this is my first time posting here.

My ISP Decimator G String started giving me problems, so I sent it back to ISP to check it out. They said everything looked good, but I still had all kinds of weird behavior from it (weird interaction with other pedals). Eventually, I ended up switching to the (much cheaper) MXR Noise Clamp. The Noise Clamp is pretty good (especially for the price), but one thing I really miss about my decimator is the amount of attenuation it had. The Decimator claims something around 60 dbv of attenuation, while the Noise Clamp only does about 26 dbv. As a result, when the Noise Clamp is "gating," you can still hear quite a bit of signal coming through.

I know most noise suppressors use fairly common layouts, so my main question is whether increasing the attenuation would just be a matter of changing out a resistor or if it would be something more involved than that.

If it's most likely just a resistor, should I post pictures of the circuit board here?

Thanks,
John

PRR

> most noise suppressors use fairly common layouts

Not that much commonality. Particularly the tricks to get cost down.

Need schematic to find clues. A quick Google didn't find a for-sure right schematic. Find one and we can go from there.

• SUPPORTER

Mark Hammer