OP Amp Big Muff Fuzz help

Started by TheKingRat, December 30, 2014, 07:28:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheKingRat

Hi guys, I'm having some real difficulty trying to diagnose what's going wrong with my Big Muff breadboard circuit. I've been running from this schematic -

http://gaussmarkov.net/layouts/opbmp/opbmp-schem.png

And a few bits from this one -

http://img129.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=943090632_V5ICBIGMUFFVERIFIED_122_741lo.jpg

I've been using my audio probe and it seems to lose signal from the 330k resistor at pin 1 of the first IC. Resistor is fine, IC is fine. It's a LM386, I've tried a UA741 too. Any help would be massively appreciated as I'm still pretty new to the whole pedal building thing. I've attached a few pictures of the breadboard.

Cheers!

nick d

The first IC should be a dual op-amp , like a TL 072 . A 741 is a single op-amp , a 386 is a low-power audio amp , which is not suitable here . A 741 would be fine for last op-amp ( the one with the diodes ) . The first two ( IC 1a and IC 1b ) need to be a dual .

GibsonGM

Hey Rat, welcome to the forums!  Looks like you're having fun tossing this one together...you'll get it going, just need some pointers I think.

Ok...first, the LM386 isn't an opamp, it's an "audio amplifier chip". It works differently and isn't a replacement for an opamp, altho it IS a very useful chip that you can use down the road!   So put it aside for later.  

The 741 is a SINGLE opamp...one amplifier section.  The 7448 they call for is a DUAL opamp, and has 2 amplifier circuits on the chip.  This means the PINOUT is different!  So you have to either use 2 single opamps and redraw how the pins are wired, or get yourself some 4558's.   I suggest getting a few dual opamps!    I think everyone has done this when they were new!    I made a .jpg of a few chips, and their pinouts...4558, 1458, TL072 and 82 have the same pinout...little cheat sheets...