Tell me what You think of my compressor design.

Started by Brisance, January 06, 2015, 03:26:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brisance

Hello.

First of all an introduction. I am an Estonian beginner electronics hobbyist and have been trying(and loving) this hobby for the better part of last year. Mainly interested in DIY audio gear and among others, stompboxes! I have been facing a bad truth - While I have friends, I have no one to discuss electronics with, so long story short I made an account here and hope, you will welcome me. I have been trying to not do any clones and if, then heavily modified, I mainly desire to design stuff myself. And thus:

I have lately been thinking a lot about compressors, optical in particular. So today I designed the circuits bare bones, I only have simulated parts of this circuit briefly, not the whole thing yet. So I am looking for experienced peoples feedback on this, whether I should try to go on with it.

Note that the circuit is only a simplified signal path, no values calculated yet.
The circuit:

(click for full size)

I was thinking of powering it from +/- 12V, enough headroom and common, when the circuit works, I will build a dedicated PSU in the case.

Since the design uses 4 op amps, all dual supplied, I think I could use a nice quad one to save space.

My theory on this:

• The signal enters the first opamp, with negative feedback set by an LDR(which will be in a dark enclosure along with light sources), with also a manual gain pot, probably the same value as the LDR in complete darkness. there is also a bypass switch, which could be engaged, thus setting the circuit on unity gain. Now to think of it, I should bypass the output volume pot with it as well, so one can A/B nicely.
  • The signal then splits off to an output buffer and to the gain reduction stage. One could add an extra sidechain input, switch the control switch and control the dynamicks with an external source.