Tycobrahe Octavia Debugging

Started by Bielorusse, February 21, 2015, 10:37:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bielorusse

Hi guys!

I have started to build a Tycobrahe Octavia pedal, but I can't get it to work although I thoroughly checked my wiring and PCB. But I must admit that I am new to building pedals: I've only built a couple yet, and I already failed a few.
I have been spending quite a lot of time on this lately, so I'll take a pause for today maybe, and get back to it later with a fresh look and an open mind. But I figured I would post something on this forum after all, maybe someone already had that same problem, or maybe someone will see what's wrong in a second (I guess I want to take every chance to make the pedal work :D)

Here is a more detailed description of the problems that I'm having:

1.What does it do, not do, and sound like?
The bypassed signal works perfectly
When engaging the effect, i just get a slightly boosted sound, very nice to hear, but with no gain at all.
Turning the PreGain pot would lead to a loud scratching noise, and eventually reduce the output of the sound (when reducing the PreGain).
When the octavia effect is engaged, I just get a slightly distorted, but very awful sound.

2.Name of the circuit =  Tycobrahe Octavia from GeneralGuitarGadgets.

3.Source of the circuit (URL of schematic or project) =  http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/effects-projects/octave/tycobrahe-octavia/
I also used this layout for the PCB: http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/2013/04/tycobrahe-octavia.html

4.Any modifications to the circuit?
5.Any parts substitutions? If yes, list them.
I choosed to install a footswitch to cut the octave sound, as described in the GeneralGuitarGadgets project.
I didn't have a 1.5M resistor for the entry of the circuit (R1 in the GeneralGuitarGadgets project, which is optional)
The transistors that I used were 2N3906 for Q1 and 2N4401 for Q3 and Q3.