Momentary Up/Down Octaver ?

Started by steveyraff, March 03, 2015, 04:12:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

steveyraff

Hey guys,

Had someone ask me recently if I could build them a non-latching up/down octaver pedal. It's a cool idea, but I've never built anything like this before. Just wondering if you guys think its possible and what circuits to look into? I see a few layouts for octave pedals on the Tagboardeffects forum, but I've no idea if any of them are better than others, or will be something I could use for this build?

Help and direction highly appreciated.

Cheers.
Steve.

www.outlandstudios.co.uk

Mark Hammer

So you mean something that could effectively "yodel"?  That is, alternate between up and down?  Or by non-latching, do you mean something that only provides the upper or lower octave as long as you hold a momentary switch down?

blackieNYC

U-boat is supposed to be pretty clean for a analog octave.  most are a fuzz on their own, you'd be introducing a whole new sound. A momentary looper send/return pedal would let him insert anything momentarily.  You want to add a momentary ON switch in parallel with the conventional stomp?
  • SUPPORTER
http://29hourmusicpeople.bandcamp.com/
Tapflo filter, Gator, Magnus Modulus +,Meathead, 4049er,Great Destroyer,Scrambler+, para EQ, Azabache, two-loop mix/blend, Slow Gear, Phase Royal, Escobedo PWM, Uglyface, Jawari,Corruptor,Tri-Vibe,Battery Warmers

thelonious

I'd make sure his expectations are in line with what can be done analog---just to make sure he's not expecting it to be a DIY Whammy.  ;)

steveyraff

Well, from what I gathered, he wants a momentary footswitch, that for as long as pressed down on will engage either and octave up OR and octave down effect. Presumably there would be like a toggle switch to select if pressing down will momentarily make it octave up or down.

I am pretty sure that is how he explained it to me as an idea.
Steve.

www.outlandstudios.co.uk

Quackzed