help! with powering up my effect

Started by LightSoundGeometry, March 08, 2015, 01:53:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LightSoundGeometry

Hello - I am new here, and new to pedal building and electronics. I have a base knowledge of how things operate but will admit I am a noob. I hope the power of the crowd will help. looks like there are some great teachers here with time and willingness to help. I thank you in advance for that, its priceless. I started the hobby because not only do i love music, and needed a hobby to occupy my free time, I love to learn new things. I am addicted now. I still have GAS and like to buy stuff, but nothing is more intriguing than making all of my own effects! the sense of accomplishment must be great!

Type: Octave up dan armstrong green ringer
From: General Guitar Gadgets PCB only, I purchased the BOM myself from mammoth electronics
Problems: wont work with power supply like the one on my pedal board which rhymes with  hoodoo hab but works just fine with a 9v battery
tweaks: I had a 560K 1/2w resistor in place of a 560K 1/4w in the R2 spot
Links: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/effects-projects/octave/dan-armstrong-green-ringer/

wondering why I am getting a negative reading on DMM when I measure voltage?

slacker

Hi

I didn't watch all the video so you might have covered it but from your photos it looks like your battery lead is the opposite polarity to your power supply lead. If you measure the voltage on the plugs by sticking the black meter lead in the hole in the plug and the red lead to the outside of the plug you should measure +9 Volts on the power lead, this is the usual polarity for pedals, the centre (hole) is ground and the outside it 9 Volts. Do the same thing on the battery plug and you'll probably find it measures -9 Volts ie: it's the opposite polarity.
If that's the case you have your power jack wired backwards, swap the black and yellow leads over and it should work.

Welcome aboard :)

LightSoundGeometry