First pedal from scratch - modified muff

Started by yung_bukowski_420, March 24, 2015, 12:55:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

yung_bukowski_420

My roommate asked me to build him a big muff with a starve control and a three band EQ.

So i sketched out a design based on what i know (i've built one pedal from a BYOC kit so i am new to this stuff) and here it is (please let me know if i've made any grievous errors, haven't breadboarded it yet):

Now my roommate is saying he wants me to add an octave up control too! i'm thinking that'll be after the output of the muff on a separate footswitch? anyone have any experience implementing this? can you offer some advice or example circuits?

mth5044

Your bypass scheme is a bit different. Typically, you want the input jack connected to the common of the switch then the bypass and the effect input on the two poles. Then you can leave the top pole of the LED switch unconnected. You can also look into 'grounded input' true bypass that is commonly used on high gain circuits and in general.

I've never seen a 20u cap on the bypass signal before, perhaps you meant that for the +9V?

Why are you using two series 1n in each gain stage instead of a single 500p cap? You will save space and money using a 500p.

You could also scale the tone stack by multiplying the value of each cap by 10 and dividing the resistor values by 10. I believe it has something to do with noise, not totally sure, but it is a common recommendation. Check out the Duncan Tonestack calculator for value tweeking and whatnot. The last transistor stage is partly meant to recover losses from the Tonestack, so you can see if the gain needs to be altered by comparing the signal loss of the fender Tonestack to the normal big muff tone control.

yung_bukowski_420

Thanks for the quick reply Matt.

Yes! The 20u cap is supposed to be on the +9v. My mistake. Good catch, thanks!