Noisy Cricket - Fried?

Started by skateboardnorth, April 22, 2015, 10:23:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skateboardnorth

Hey guys, I'm new to building electronics.  I built a Noisy Cricket and it worked perfect....until I think I fried it.  I had it sitting on my table(no enclosure) and I was playing it when it suddenly cut out.  Now when I turn it on and plug in, it makes strange noises.  I think it might have come into contact with metal(my table is full of junk) and probably fried something.  I just want to know what might have fried, and what should be the first thing that I change to get it working again. 

Here's a video of it.  You can here a strange pulsing feedback  http://youtu.be/0jPiuSQYJj8

Here is the schematic : http://www.beavisaudio.com/Projects/NoisyCricket/DIY/NoisyCricket_Mark2_BuildGuide.pdf

canman

Do you have an extra LM386 you could pop in there?  I fried mine when I accidentally plugged in the wrong power supply...threw in a new chip and it fired right back up.

If it was working before and now it's not, look for maybe a connection that came loose as well.  Probably not the case if it was just sitting there, but worth a check.

Did it get bumped at all while it was on your table?

skateboardnorth

I'll grab another LM386 tomorrow to try.  They are cheap and always good to have around.  Doesn't seem to be any loose connections.  There is a lot of junk on my table so it may have shorted out on something.  Thanks for the suggestion.

canman

Have you checked to make sure something isn't stuck on the solder side of the board?  Maybe something is stuck to a couple connections causing a short?

skateboardnorth

Yeah I checked that.  Made sure there is nothing touching that shouldn't be.  I'll start with the LM386 like you suggested since it's the easiest to swap. 

canman

Hopefully it'll fix the problem...good luck!  Keep us posted!

Brisance