Transformer Questions

Started by Scruffie, April 29, 2015, 12:07:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scruffie

I have little experience with power and output transformers but have 2 at the moment with no datasheets and need to know which connections are which.

First up, I have an old EHX pedal (240V UK version) with the plug missing, it has a blue and brown wire which by the old coding system, brown would be live and blue would be neutral but, just to be safe that the colours here aren't arbitrary though, how do I check before I wire up a new plug?

Second, I have an old radio output transformer, I know the impedances are about 7000:4 but which lugs are which?

Be grateful for any advice for what is potentially a stupidly easy question.

R.G.

Quote from: Scruffie on April 29, 2015, 12:07:03 PM
First up, I have an old EHX pedal (240V UK version) with the plug missing, it has a blue and brown wire which by the old coding system, brown would be live and blue would be neutral but, just to be safe that the colours here aren't arbitrary though, how do I check before I wire up a new plug?
No good way to tell.
Is there a green or green/yellow wire in the cord? If not, the two remaining wires must be treated as though both are "hot", and which is which doesn't really matter, GIVEN that you use your ohmmeter and check for
(1) under 1k ohms between the two when the unit is not plugged in (easy as it is now!) and
(2) infinite resistance to any user - touchable metal when the power switch is turned on.
Second, I have an old radio output transformer, I know the impedances are about 7000:4 but which lugs are which?
Feed it a signal into one winding, then measure the voltages on the other winding. 7000:4 = turns ratio of 42:1. The low-resistance winding is probably the low impedance winding. If you feed 1Vac into that, you ought to get 42Vac at the other side. If you get 1/42V, you guessed wrong.

R.G.