Volume loss on bypass (true bypass)

Started by suncrush, May 04, 2015, 09:02:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

suncrush

I think my issue is that I'm working on a breadboard, and not through soldered connections, but I've never done an audio project before and I want to make sure I understand what's happening before I box it all up.

I'm making a valvecaster, using this schematic, with two modifications.  I did not install a tone knob, so C4 and VR2 are nonexistent.  I am also running at 18 V.

I am using a DPDT switch to bypass the effect.  I have the input jack connected to the common lug of the switch, and the output connected to one of the poles.  The input is soldered to a jumper, which runs to the breadboard.  A jumper runs from board to common.  A soldered jumper runs out of the switch to the board, then a jumper carries the signal to the ouput, also soldered.

With the switch on bypass, the level is about 10-15 dB lower than direct connection to the amp.

Will this resolve itself when I solder input to common, and solder pole to output, or is there something about this that I don't understand?

suncrush

I found this diagram for a footswitch, which grounds out the circuit input when bypassed.  Is that important?  It doesn't seem to me like it would matter, but.....

canman

I'm not sure I understand how your DPDT wiring is set up, but regardless...I don't think soldering everything in will solve a 10-15dB drop in volume.  

Is your switch wired up exactly as shown in that picture, minus the left pole with the LED indication?

Grounding the input can be important, but it's not necessarily required.  It probably isn't the cause of your problem.  I find grounding the input helps more with signal bleed and switch pop.

bloxstompboxes

Permission to re-post this drawing is denied. oops. lol.

Floor-mat at the front entrance to my former place of employment. Oh... the irony.

canman