Long skinny aluminum enclosure?

Started by PBE6, May 09, 2015, 09:40:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PBE6

A friend of mine has asked me to make him a controller for his two Eventide pedals based on this simple but clever design:

http://www.guitarforum.co.za/effects/eventide-factor-aux-switcher/

He'd prefer if it were built in a long, skinny box. The longest/skinniest one I could find is the 1411WU (12"x3"x2.2") from Smallbear:

http://smallbear-electronics.mybigcommerce.com/enclosure-sheetmetal-hammond-1411wu/

Just wondering if anyone has had experience with this type of enclosure. I've never used sheet metal before, it is easy to drill? And is there excessive flexing when using pressing the stompswitches?

Jdansti

Hi!

I've used shorter versions without any flexing problems when stomping the switches. I suspect that the narrowness of the box you're looking at would keep it from flexing too much.

As for drilling, it would be best to have the surface you are drilling to be flat against a sacrificial piece of wood or your drill press platform. That means if you are drilling from the outside, cut a piece of wood that fits on the inside and make it slightly taller than the sides of the piece you are drilling. If you're drilling from the inside, just make sure the piece is on a hard flat surface. Same goes if you use a punch before drilling. I haven't had any problems drilling through the material with moderately worn bits.

Also clamp it in a way that won't cause it to get bent if the drill bit grabs and tries to spin it.

Good luck!
  • SUPPORTER
R.G. Keene: EXPECT there to be errors, and defeat them...

mth5044

R.G.

R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

PBE6

Thanks everyone! Hey RG, just taking a quick look at your metals website link and wondering how would you cap the ends of the aluminum tube?

PRR