Debugging: Box of Rock

Started by MaxP, May 10, 2015, 01:21:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MaxP

hello guys,

I'm fairly new to building guitar pedals and I'm looking for help.
I'm building a box of rock clone with the tagboard lvlark vero layout.
Got the SHO side working!
The dirt side doesnt;

Here is the checklist to fill out:
1.What does it do, not do, and sound like?
The SHO part works fine, but the dirt side doesn't. There is sound coming through, but at a really low level, and it's clean.

2.Name of the circuit =
Box of rock

3.Source of the circuit (URL of schematic or project) =
http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.nl/2012/03/zvex-box-of-rock-complete.html

4.Any modifications to the circuit? No

5.Any parts substitutions? No

6.Positive ground to negative ground conversion? No

7.Turn your meter on, set it to the 10V or 20V scale. Remove the battery from the battery clip. Probe the battery terminals with the meter leads before putting it in the clip. What is the out of circuit battery voltage? => 9.36 (USING DC adapter)

I will fill this list later on, do not have the time to do the measuring tonight..

But, everything looks fine until the tone pot, getting almost no signal into and out of it..
Checked the 1uF cap, worked fine, but switched it for a new one (also tested, first putting some volts in it with the resistor function on DMM, then it dischargers to open circuit in volt setting)

It would be nice if someone could tell me if i missed something before the tone pot which is causing the problems.
I believe this is the same schematic as the vero board earlier on in this post(except for the 47u in the beginning):
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-kq989pNrtME/TxQ5v0UVl8I/AAAAAAAAAkQ/tQV0VA6M2QQ/s1600/zvex_boxofrock_schematics.jpg

thanks in advance!

Well, the problem is, right after Q3, the problems start..