Hello ... and buffer question

Started by GuitarPix, May 11, 2015, 11:38:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GuitarPix

Hello all, my name is Neil and I'm just getting into the electronics side of playing guitar. I've got a plans for an optical compressor and a fuzz box to start with. I've been wiring guitars and playing with electricity most of my life (and I'm in my mid 50's), but this is a bit of a learning curve for me.

My eventual goal, if building effects goes well and I don't throw my soldering iron through a window, will be to build a simple low watt tube amp and then move on to bigger amps.

Now for my pressing question. I've got an ElectroVoice R300 wireless mic (lavalier style) with BP300 bodypack. There's a way to use it for instruments and I wired up a TA4F (mini-xlr) connector to a 1/4" plug and fired it up. There's sound but its low volume and very muffled sounding. However if I put a pedal with a buffer in the path it sounds great. But, if I'm strapping this thing to my guitar strap, having my extra tuning pedal on there is kinda awkward.

So - is there a simple buffer I could wire up for this (I have started collecting parts and have some 2N5088s on hand for example), or is there a better solution?

antonis

Hellow Neil..!!
(and greetings to your age... :icon_wink:)

There are many buffer circuits but the "one transistor buffer" (BJT or FET) is simple enough...

I presume that your mic has low enough resistance so there is no need for a high input impedance (like JFET or Mosfet) so if you bias the 2n5088 with a Zin of 100k total (or so..) and a couple of 100nF IN & 10μF OUT caps should be fine..
(where Zin  = R1//R2//βRe if you'll use a voltage divider for base biasing and OUT cap may be fitted according to next chain device..)

I'm not posting any schematic because there are too many of these all around.. :icon_wink:
(just a basic approach: http://www.muzique.com/lab/buffers.htm

P.S.