wooden DIY percussive stompbox

Started by johnson, May 19, 2015, 11:27:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnson

Ok guys i have almost zero experience in electronics, so this might seem like a dumb question. i couldnt find the answer online tough.
I made a very simple stompbox. I mounted an old speaker on an old speakercase and voila.
the only thing it need to do is produce a bass kick sound when stomped with a shoe. i added some pictures below. My only problem is that it's still to trebly for my liking. So i would like to add a simple adjustable low pass filter to it. I'm thinking of something like a guitar tone potmeter, wich will give me an adjustable knob to determine my cutoff. any tips on what would work in this setup?

Kipper4

I'm no Expert but cant you eq the signal with the amp?
Putting a passive LPF between the speaker (mic) and output jack will lose a lot of signal.
It might be worth thinking of putting a active LPF in there though. Just my hacker opinion.

Ps side note I would tie a knot in the cable inside the box so it doesnt get pulled off the speaker connections in the heat of a gig/practice and you end up with an air drum.
Ma throats as dry as an overcooked kipper.

Smoke me a Kipper. I'll be back for breakfast.

Grey Paper.
http://www.aronnelson.com/DIYFiles/up/

GGBB

A speaker isn't that far removed from a guitar pickup, so I think a tone control would work pretty well assuming you choose the right values for pot and cap. You probably want a big cap in this case, and best would be bipolar. I'd take a wild guess and try two polarized 100µF caps in series back-to-back with a 250k pot. I could be way off though.
  • SUPPORTER

stallik