"King Tut" Fuzz Debugging

Started by Vitus, June 05, 2015, 03:28:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vitus

Dear people of DIYstompboxes.com! This is my second attempt at a DIY-pedal. While the first one (a Mastodon-fuzz) worked like a charme, this one is starting to drive me crazy. Unfortunately I'm still a total noob in terms of electronics (albeit willing to learn). I don't want to waste anyones time but any help on this one would be greatly appreciated!

"King Fuzz" (Pharoh-clone // modded Big Muff Pi)
Project website: http://www.rullywow.com/product/king-tut-fuzz-pharoh-clone-pcb/
Build doc: http://www.rullywow.com/build_docs/King%20Tut%20Build%20Doc%20v1.1.pdf

What I changed for my build:
- replaced all the 47nF caps (C4, C6, C7, C9, C12) with 470nF ones - as per recommendation from this blog entry http://fuzzypedals.blogspot.de/2014/12/pharaoh-fuzz-king-tut.html
- socketed all four transistors (Q1 - Q4)
- socketed diodes D1, D2, D5, D6, D7
- added a GuitarPCB 3PDT-wiring board for the foot-switch

Polarity:
it's negative ground (uses a center negative DC adaptor)

What works:
- True Bypass works fine
- foot switch seems to work
- Power LED used to work fine until I unsoldered it and put it in again because I initially used the wrong terminals (LED on when in Bypass-mode), I may have damaged the 3PDT-PCB because now the LED isn't working anymore
- Volume-poti works
- Tone-poti seems to work
- High-poti seems to work
- Hi/Lo-switch seems to work / does something to the tone
- diode-switch (SI/OFF/GE) does something to the tone although not very much and OFF/GE seem more or less the same

What doesn't work:
- no fuzz at all
- fuzz-poti acts like a volume-poti (changes volume up/down) but by turning it up, it also adds a lot of noise (almost like white noise) to the audio signal but without changing the incoming audio signal istself (nothing like fuzz or distortion) - just adding a layer of noise, almost like a weak radio signal