Joyo voodoo octave mod

Started by cheapgtrs, June 20, 2015, 07:28:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cheapgtrs

So I'm trying to do the cap mod on my voodoo octave. I can't seem to get the caps out. This is my first attempt at modding a pedal and I'd like to not destroy the pedal. So I'm going very slow (maybe to slow) as to not damage the board. I can't seem to get the solder on the board fluid so I can ease the cap out. My question is would a heat gun be an easier way to do this? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance from a newb.

duck_arse

welcome to the forum, cheapgtrs. you might want to ask a moderator to move this thread to 'build your own stompbox' area, more people will look/see there.

do you have some photos of that which you are destroying working on that we can look at? and if you don't want to destroy the pedal, are you ok with destroying the coming-out caps? it is sometimes the easier way to wreck the caps, then clean up the board.
You hold the small basket while I strain the gnat.

bluebunny

Welcome along!  If the solder isn't flowing, then the iron isn't hot enough.  (Or the cap is attached to an enormous bit of copper on the PCB that's wicking away the heat faster than you can supply it.)
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

cheapgtrs

My iron is 40 watt but it's a cheapo. Do you think it's not hot enough?  It will melt solder just not on the pcb. I'll put some pics up later. It's all disposable I suppose. I got 30 bucks in this thing so if I wreck it no biggie. Just trying to learn. I'm tired of paying for something I can do myself

cheapgtrs

Oh and please move to the correct forum.  My apologies

cheapgtrs

I lifted this pic from the net but the yellow arrows is what I'm working on

duck_arse