Glass enclosure?

Started by ASchmalex, July 02, 2015, 09:36:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ASchmalex

I know it sounds kinda silly building a "stompbox" in a glass enclosure but has anyone done it? I am a glass blower by trade and was thinking the concept of a "circut in a bottle" would be kinda interesting. I think the footswitch would be swapped out for a toggle...looked around the shop quick and found this set of glass joints that might work....thoughts?

duck_arse

silly is my stock in trade, I say do it.

you could maybe use some aluminium extrusions (angle or U) for frame parts, to hold those nasty glass-cracking nuts, and blow the glass around/over? I dunno.

glass blower, huh? I bags first ask for "can you blow some control knobs?"
don't make me draw another line.

ASchmalex

I think with some plastic (nylon?) Washers it would be ok to munt on a flattened glass surface. I work borosilicate glass so it is quite durable.
After a little brainstorming I think it would work well to mount electronics to the lid and then drop them into a vertical jar. I don't know that my soldering is worthy of being on display but it might make a kinda cool night light with some leds.
I'm thinking I could use 1/8 phone jacks to keep the size down and then make some conversion cables.
Hopefully I can dedicate some time to this project next week...

ASchmalex

Quote from: duck_arse on July 02, 2015, 11:57:51 AM
silly is my stock in trade, I say do it.

you could maybe use some aluminium extrusions (angle or U) for frame parts, to hold those nasty glass-cracking nuts, and blow the glass around/over? I dunno.

glass blower, huh? I bags first ask for "can you blow some control knobs?"
Knobs, possibly. If I can make something I'm happy with you will be first in the list, but honestly orders are piling up and I'm lazy so it most likely won't happen soon [emoji3]

Jdansti

You might have some problems with hum and other noise if you don't shield your circuits.
  • SUPPORTER