Buying a used oscillocope (Hitachi v152)

Started by Keeb, July 10, 2015, 03:01:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keeb

I've found an oscilloscope for sale locally and I'm wondering if I should go for it or not. The scope in question is a Hitachi v152. Let me start with saying that I have no experience using a scope and I don't really know what to look for. When searching for information online it seems like any scope will be good enough for pedal and audio use. I would be using it primarily for analysing and understanding circuits and, when I'm used to the scope, maybe try to calibrate phasers/flangers. In the future I might move on to amplifiers I guess but if I buy this scope it would be for pedal use.

You can find the user manual here (slow site): https://sonsofinvention.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/hitachi-v-152f-oscilloscope-operation-manual/

Here's a screenshot of the specs from the manual (so you don't have to load it all): http://i.imgur.com/sGpJREr.png

I'm guessing this would satisfy my needs although being analogue, and an older, piece of equipment.

So my questions to you more experienced users are:

-Would this scope be good enough?

-It doesn't come with probes. Are these suitable? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Two-P6100-DC-100MHZ-Oscilloscope-Scope-Clip-Probe-100MHz-For-Tektronix-HP-HC-/251713130488?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3a9b458ff8

Any insight appreciated!

GibsonGM

I'm not a scope guru by any means, but I think the real questions are "how much", and "does it work properly"?