jfet splitter schematic help

Started by yuka42, July 17, 2015, 02:45:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yuka42

Hi everyone!  First of all, let me say thanks to everyone here for all you've taught me.  I've learned tons.  I've got so many projects floating around my head it's ridiculous.  I'm really new to this, but I'm trying and have built a couple pedals already with success.

I'm trying to figure a circuit based on (read exactly the same) as the AMZ Jfet splitter, but with an optional stereo input, transformer isolation, and added phase flip and on/off switch for each output.  Please let me know if using this schematic is against forum rules.

I've drawn up a schematic free hand (because I'm super slow at Diptrace and a pencil and ruler is easier on my brain). 

Would someone smarter than I like to have a look and let me know if this will actually work?  Out 3&4 would be duplicates of Out 2. 

I plan to install this into a pedal board build that I also have in the planning stage.  I wanted to get the electronics worked out before I started the woodworking.

Thanks very much.

Ryan

Transmogrifox

First off -- really nice artwork :).  I'm a fan of well-done hand drawn schematics.

I don't know what transformer you intend to use, but if its DC resistance is much less than 1k you'll cook your JFETs (it also makes the parallel 10k pointless).  At the very least it won't be doing what you expect.

The other problem I see is with your V/2 biases between inputs there is bound to be several to 10's of mV difference between the two gate voltages and you will get audible switch pop when you switch stereo/mono -- not to mention the sudden jump at the gate of Q2 from wherever it has floated during the time the switch contact is flying (unless you have a make-before-break switch).

I suggest these changes:
Put the transformer winding in the JFET drain.