From Breadboard to reality

Started by LightSoundGeometry, July 22, 2015, 06:20:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LightSoundGeometry

Hello everybody, got a few things been stumping me and I cannot figure out how to get past these particular hurdles.

First is the echoplex. I can bread board it now no problem, and it sound fantastic but I am unable to p2p wire it on any medium; I tried perf, stripboard and a vero. killiing me! I burnt up all my expensive parts trying to build this thing after breadboarding it several times with great results ( thank you cozy). there is a connection or flow someplace I am not getting just yet. However, I got my rangemaster wired p2p and it now sounds awesome..for some reason it changed. it was insane treble to all of a sudden a fat, warm, trebley boost..maybe sticking it 2nd in the chain after my octave helped but I now understand all the hype. it makes other pedals sound better to. I had 4 transistors from small bear and ended up with the 0c140 npn in mine. also, I did a positive grounded effect for the first time with the small bear US rangemaster and it turned out very nice as well. So I can do a rangemaster and a preamp similar to the EP, just not the EP ..I dont know why this is giving me such fits...lol.

The other thing is now everythign I do is squealing - I shorten up wires and separate them but it either does not work, or isolates the squealing only when input jack is disconnected from instrument and turned up. I tried super huge power filter caps like 330mf and lower pot values. I have not tried the in series resistor between input and pot though.