ROG tonemender vero board problems

Started by otomo, August 24, 2015, 09:08:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

otomo

hi guys, my names thomas, and im relatively new to to wonderful world of electronics!

been an avid reader of lots of posts here, but cannot find the answer to the problem i've got.
built the tone mender from ROG groove 4 times now, and it always has the same problem... the tone potentiometers and switch do nothing!
i've gone around the circuit with an audio probe, theres signal going through when the board has no power, and louder and cleaner with power, but it goes all the way through to output. yet the pots and switch don't seem to have an effect.

ic pin out voltages for tlc2272 are strange

using a new 9v batter

pin 1   7.85
pin 2   7.85
pin 3   7.37
pin 4   7.85
pin 5   7.36
pin 6   7.68
pin 7   7.85
pin 8   8.93

i've checked this one over for loose solders, bridges etc, and this is also the fourth time i've tried. all resistors and caps and pots are as recommended.tested using a mp3 as input

anyone have any thoughts of the area i should be looking in? as i'm quite keen to figure it out myself....but need some clues!

cheers guys

chumbox

Hi Thomas

Now I'm no diagnosis whizz but start here with the troubleshooting post and see how you go:

http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=29816.0

Beyond this I find with vero it's 98% a solder problem or 1% wiring of the 3PDT switch and/or 1% grounding issues.  Not saying this to be insulting, it's just it took me a long time to work out that most problems were simply solved by these things after about 20 builds. In most cases double and triple checking these three things with a clear calm mind resolved most issues first go. 

Sorry I can't be more help but good luck, you'll get it going in the end.  It's character building
:)

Elijah-Baley

Quote from: otomo on August 24, 2015, 09:08:58 AM
hi guys, my names thomas, and im relatively new to to wonderful world of electronics!