CV controlling guitar volume and tone

Started by Toopie, September 18, 2015, 03:09:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Toopie

Hey guys,

This is a question probably not even worth asking around here, but I'm a novice and I'm trying to figure this out.

I'm building a lap steel guitar and I would like to use some LFO's from my Moog CP-251 to controle the volume and tone values on my pickups. Using some jacks wired up to the pickups I guess. Basically I want to create some vibrato like effects straight out of my guitar.

Is this possible? Is it easy? Is it a bad idea? Why?

Thank you guys.

I'll probably have more questions about a Fuzz Factory clone I want to make, but I'll read the forums some more first.

ashcat_lt

The easy way to do this will be with LED/LDRs.  The T pot is just a variable resistor, and an LDR parallel to it would probably work fine.  The V pot is a voltage divider, so might need a complimentary pair, though just putting the LDR parallel to the bottom of the pot might work well enough.

R.G.

I have this theory that every situation in life has been covered by at least one refrain from a C&W song.

In this case, sure it's possible, and as the song says, "send lawyers, guns and money".  :icon_lol:

Maybe not in that order.

I like the LDR approach too, especially for the tone settings. Other ways get complicated pretty quickly.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

Mark Hammer

How is Warren Zevon C&W?  :icon_question:

Music classification aside, I'm a firm believer that you do on the guitar what is best and most easily done on the guitar, and what is best and most easily done off the guitar gets done there.

Lap steel introduces afew wrinkles.  One is certainly the minimal space available.  I have an old Guyatone lap steel, and there is barely enough room for the single tone and volume control.