Tap Tremolo Pre-Planning Questions

Started by transcendent12, October 13, 2015, 02:06:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

transcendent12

I've kind of been thinking about this for the last few years cause my brother has always been bugging me to make him a tremolo pedal (At the time I was an EE student).

I lack a bit of practical circuit design skills, still very green and have very little general knowledge when it comes to the basic circuits and characteristics =)

Anyhow, I realise there is already a wealth of information upon the web and this forum on existing tremolo's but I'd like to clarify a few things.

My tremolo is based upon a few things for initial prototype. I'm using a 32bit Arduino Due to digitally control and synthesize the tremolo waveforms using it's 12bit DAC.

I have seen a few classes of tremolo methods: 1) Optocoupled somehow 2)direct modulation of various transistors  3) Various types of Variable Gain Amplifiers.

Features of the my proposed tremolo: Tap tremolo (hardware interrupts into arduino being counted and averaged), BPM selector, memory functions, programmable waveforms and regular features such as depth etc, true bypass.

From what I understand, the opto coupled tremolo does not have a linear response between incident light and resistance. While this may make a pleasing sound, I'd rather just IQ record/synthesize an LDR circuit and then program them into the arduino. So for this I need a "bit perfect" linear Variable Gain Amplifier.

I haven't seen anyone else use this particular chip, so I'd be appreciative if anyone could say if it was a reasonable, or terrible, idea.
LT1251 http://cds.linear.com/docs/en/datasheet/12516fa.pdf