Complete Noob needs help making an amp switch

Started by Marsh1029, October 17, 2015, 12:34:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marsh1029

Hi, I have a JCM 2000 DSL 100. On the back there are 2 inputs - one for channel switching, and the other for switching the reverb on and off.
I want to make 2 new switches as a hobby, but I am very confused even though I have built pedal kits before.

The amp provides power for the led.

The rehoused marshall switch uses the xwing type spdt. 2 of the poles are being used, the 3rd one isn't. im guessing thats how its supposed to be and wouldnt work with an spst.

I would like to make new switches, with high quality stomp switches from smallbear.

Questions:

If i buy spst carling switches - can I wire up an LED as well?  If I use a 5mm led, what resistor would I need? Currently a 3mm led is being used, with a 1k resistor.

If a spst cannot be used with led, and must be the spdt, are the xwing type good quality? if not, what is the next step up in switch quality that I should purchase, and how would it be wired up with a resistor/led (in case the next step up switch has more poles that require a different hookup)?

Thank you so much in advance guys. I know these questions are dead simple to you, but I have no one else to ask, and I have exhausted google. whatever switch you guys recommend from smallbear, please include a very simple diagram so even I can solder along.

Picture of the switches

Picture of the marshall rehoused switch - was in "skull" switch

Picture of the switch I made. No Led. Have no idea what kind of switch this is.

mth5044

I'm a little confused how you ended up with these switches. Did you make both of them? Do they work?