Try and tweak the sound.

Started by h1283703, October 19, 2015, 04:51:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

h1283703

Hello,

I'm kinda new to the diy pedal craft. I assembled some kits and repaired some pedals, but never build one.
I have questions regarding this:
- Is there a software where I can design the pcb, that allows me to try the modification of the sound signal? I mean, for example, I build a delay pcb, and want to test it, is there anyway I can simulate, by inserting a guitar or bass sample for example, and see the modification that the pcb does to the sound, all virtually?

- For a beginner, what software, and what method to print the pcbs should I go for?

Thanks

antonis

Hello and Wellcome..

As far as I know, there isn't any common software for simulation AND PCB design..
(meaning that you'll have to redraw the circuit - I'm not informed of any "dublication" method..)

My personal choice for simulation is Tina-TI software and for PCB design is Eagle CAD but these are just a matter of taste.. :icon_wink:
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

smallbearelec

Hi--

Simulation software will tell you what a circuit will do to a guitar signal. It won't tell you whether you will Like the result, so breadboarding is still a required basic. I can't recommend a package for simulation, but others here will. For board design, I have long used EAGLE; other people here have their favorites. To get a board made inexpensively, I have had good experience with and can recommend OSH Park. If you are willing to live with a typical 10-business day delivery, their price of $28.00 for three small boards is hard to beat. Better, they will work from an EAGLE .BRD file; for standard requirements, no need to convert to Gerber.

LightSoundGeometry