SUPPLY CURRENT QUESTION

Started by Rengpuia, October 19, 2015, 11:00:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rengpuia

Hi this is my first post and I'm very new to building circuits. I have built a 3W amplifier(using TDA7267A) from a schematic I saw on this site. I am thinking of powering the amp circuit along with a TS-808 clone that i've built by another diy power adapter. But the only transformer that I managed to find is a 12V 1.6amp output. The voltage rating of the TS-808 is 9V so i put a 15ohm resistor in series with the power supply. Both circuits will consume around 1amp and if i use this transformer will it cause a problem for the IC's and transistors like shortening their lifespan? If the supply current of 1.6 amps is too much can anyone tell me how to limit the current? Thanks. Please excuse my poor grammar.

mth5044

Where did you did find that a tubescreamer will draw 1 amp? At most, a tubescreamer will draw 10mA, that's 0.01 amps.

You need to supply enough amps to the circuit, you cannot supply too much. You are worrying about the opposite thing. That transformer is way more than enough for the tubescreamer, which is fine, but you need to make sure it's enough for the TDA7267A. Take at a look at its datasheet and what load you are running it in to and you should find the amount of amps you need.

Power supplies like the 1Spot supply 1.2A of DC to pedals and they are fine running 1 or 10 pedals at a time. circuits will draw as much current as they need, excess is not a problem, too little current is.

The resistor drop might be fine, but you could also go with a 7809 regulator for a clean 9V.

smallbearelec

Quote from: Rengpuia on October 19, 2015, 11:00:14 AM
the only transformer that I managed to find is a 12V 1.6amp output

Hi--