Troubleshooting my Valvecaster - First post!

Started by rave0035, November 01, 2015, 08:23:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rave0035

Hi all!  Intros first: first post here, as well as my first pedal build.  Not new to electronics - I've been tinkering with instrument and hifi amps for several years and have intermediate skills and gear availability.

What I'm doing: building a Valvecaster pedal for a friend/bandmate entirely from spare parts I have lying around.  I used this layout:

...with a few "mods" based on available parts:
- VR1 is 60k, VR2 and VR3 are 15k, all linear
- Currently testing with a 12v, 300mA wall wort since my buddy pilfered all my 9v's  ::)

What it looks like:

What it's doing: VERY weak signal at output when not bypassed... I'm talking a pure sine wave that usually rips speakers apart at 6 that is barely audible at 100.  Picking up some RF activity, though. 

What I've Done: I'm loosing signal at the grid of the first triode - I can trace a strong signal to that point.  After that, it's dead as a doornail.  I've double checked all the wiring and looked for solder blobs and obvious shorts and found neither.  Heaters glow, and grounds check out.  I pulled pin voltages this morning and then came here:
(All readings referenced to COM, with 12v DC input)
1:-11.6v
2: -0.4v
3: 10.8mV
4: COM
5: -12v
6: -11.9v
7: -369mV
8: COM

Where do I go next, o great pedal gurus?
Mike

duck_arse

first off, rave0035, welcome.

second off, rave, you MUST connect that meter for the pedal to function correctly! MUST! any method of connecting to provide indicating will do.

thirdly, all your voltages show as (-), is this correct? is your adaptor perhaps backwarding your volts?

fourthly, vr2 and vr3 are way low value, may load in a bad way.
don't make me draw another line.

rave0035