Drill chuck adaptor?

Started by slashandburn, November 03, 2015, 05:57:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

slashandburn

So I graduated to aluminium enclosures, and after etching them with ferric I realised I had all I needed to jump to PCBs from stripboard, except a way to drill the holes in the boards.

I nearly got one of those dremel stands/presses but I also want to drill holes in the enclosures. Somewhat stupidly  bought a big pillar drill thinking it'd cover all bases. Feckin Chuck won't hold smaller than a 1.5mm bit. Doh!

So I've tried a few things and had moderate success using a sawn-off pin vice to hold the bit and sticking the pin vice in the chuck. I've only drilled a few test holes.  I need to inspect it closer but after every few holes the pin vice seems to slacken slightly and the bit disappears up inside. It's an absolute pain in the arse to take it all out and put it together again. 50 holes will take me hours. So far it's my best option besides shelling out for a bloody dremel stand after all.

Any other options? A better pin vice? (I just a thought there, check tonight, maybe the piece of wood I had taped the copper board to is too hard?! I'll report back on that. I'm still interested to hear any other methods for getting a 1.5mm Chuck to drill straight with a .8mm bit.

I squashed a fair few of those dremel collets thinking I could get it in solid that way. No way am I resetting the bit in the pin vice after every 3 holes.

Ideas please. And opinions on whether I was foolish in thinking I could use the same cheap ass pillar drill to drill both eddystone enclosures and PCBs effectively.

I'm gonna end up with another press soon, aren't I?

SuzukiScottie

slashandburn

Oh my! Don't I feel foolish. I could've bought a similar Chuck when I bought the pin vice! I ruled it out as an option because my pillar drill chuck didn't have a hex fitting. As in, I was thinking it couldn't replace my current chuck.