a little troubleshooting help

Started by charriman, October 28, 2015, 11:01:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

charriman

In this thread from a couple of years ago:
http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=98608.msg862665#msg862665

I posted that i was having issues with a GGG tonebender build.
well, i decided to do a little cleanup and do away with the tranny sockets and solder the silicon trannies to the board.
Did that and now i seem to have messed it up.

with the probe, i've figured out that the board is passing signal all the way up to Q3 so i checked my voltages.  All of the voltages check out on Q1 and Q2
but here they are anyway
Q1
C 6.8
B 1.9
E 0.5

Q2
C 2.39
B 1.31
E 0

Q3
C 1.76
B 2.4
E 1.74

Would a bad solder joint on Q3 cause it to not pass signal through Q3 or is the tranny toast?  I'm still pretty new to all of this with only a few builds under my belt.

here is the schematic:   http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_tb_m2p_sc_ns.pdf

it looks to me like the guitar signal is split off at the base of Q2 and it goes to R4 and then out to the 3rd lug of the attack pot.
Since it doesnt appear that that the guitar signal goes through Q3, what does it do?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!

blackieNYC

R4 is feedback.  You have the same voltage at Q2C and Q3B, that's good.  Does Q3C voltage change with the R6 20k pot?  Ohm out the connections from Q3 to ground and +9.  Is R5 the right value?  The attack pot should change the Q3E voltage a bit.  Maybe check Q3 with the diode checker, that's red on base, black on E or C,  - .5v or so, but it looks like you've got that.
  • SUPPORTER
http://29hourmusicpeople.bandcamp.com/
Tapflo filter, Gator, Magnus Modulus +,Meathead, 4049er,Great Destroyer,Scrambler+, para EQ, Azabache, two-loop mix/blend, Slow Gear, Phase Royal, Escobedo PWM, Uglyface, Jawari,Corruptor,Tri-Vibe,Battery Warmers

charriman