Band pass filter pedal

Started by Bastis, November 24, 2015, 05:44:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bastis

Hey!

I'm new to the forum! I've read the "Read this before posting", but if I'm doing something wrong anyway please feel free to correct me.

I am also new to making pedals. I've made two basic fuzz pedals and they work pretty much as intended. The next build however is one that I want to actually use, not just play around with. I mostly use my pedals for with a saxophone, so the impedance is (if I've understood that part) different from a guitar source. This whole thing with impedance is something that I havn't quite gotten my head around yet, so if I make a mistake please point it out.

I want to make a band pass filter with 4 switches. Each switch turns on a band pass filter with a certain frequency range. The lowest filter will cover the lower half of the saxophones (alto) fundamental note register, the second filter will cover the second half. Then the two remaining filters cover different ranges of harmonics.

The plan is to put an OP AMP controlled with a pot at the beginning of the input signal, then the signals pass through the filters and eventually go through another OP AMP to make up for the signal loss. The OP AMP will of course be wired correctly to the power source and ground, and so will the input and output jacks be. I'll make a 3PDT true bypass switch as well, but I figured all that would just clutter up the circuit if I included it at this stage..

I have a hard time figuring out the values for all the caps and resistors, but I have tried to come up with a suggestion at least and I hope you guys can help me figure out how to improve those numbers. I believe the circuit should work, but being a novice I assume I've made a bunch of mistakes. So feel free to suggest improvements, different solutions, alternatives or that I should just give up and build something easier before attempting this.