Twincaster commissioning issues......

Started by son_of_a_didley, November 24, 2015, 01:37:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

son_of_a_didley

Hi there folks, I would be very grateful if you would be able to get my twincaster up and running. First I should say that I have only built 4 pedals before. I have managed to debug all of these and get them running no problem ..... but I'm a complete novice when it comes to valves and I'm struggling to figure this one out. To describe the problem, I get a bypass signal fine but silence/ occasional very weak signal when engaged with all knobs at max. The valve heaters are powered and the valves have a soft glow. I've checked and double checked the orientation of the polarised capacitors. I've now built an audio probe to test the circuit. So I can test the signal path, would anyone be able to clarify the signal path through a 12au7 valve for me? As I understand it, pin1 links to pin6, pin 2 links to pin 7, pin 3 links to pin 8. Is this correct?

Many thanks,

Vitrolin

please post the schematic you used for your project or we might not be talking about the same components

son_of_a_didley

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm using renegadrians version.... http://www.aronnelson.com/gallery/main.php/v/Renegadrian/Twincaster+rev+0_11.jpg.html

I spent some time tracing with the audio probe (excellent tool!) and found my problem - cold solder on a capacitor! I'm delighted to have it running and it sounds great. The problem I'm facing now is noise when I stop playing. After about a second after the guitar fades out hum starts to build up.  There is a clear gap of about a second... then humming in rapid pulses. I'm using a cheap 12v 2A regulated adapter which I'm guessing may be the problem. Has anyone else had this issue? I know hum is expected with valvecaster type pedals but I wondered if the rapid hum pulsing was symptomatic of something?

PRR