delay pedal only active when pressed...?

Started by joySeeing, November 27, 2015, 05:32:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joySeeing

I run woodwind instruments through effects. One annoying thing about guitar effect pedals in general is they use on / off switches that must be pressed for each state. I want the functionality of a piano pedal where the effect is only on with the pedal is down, giving a lot more control to the user.

Something tells me this is very easy, a matter of modding the switch mechanism. Although I don't really know because I've never done this before. Would it be fairly easy to mod an existing delay pedal to somehow accept a 1/4 piano sustain pedal as the device to complete the circuit instead of a on / off stomp switch?

Or maybe there is already a pedal to do this?

Or maybe better to whip out my arduino + Macbook Pro + Supercollider Lang?

R.G.

It's a common, if seldom recognized issue.

Down at the meta level, footswitches combine some amount of switching, all mechanically ganged together, with either memory (that's the alternate action, on-punch-off-punch-on... version) or no memory (i.e. what you're asking for, on only when pressed). You're asking for what is known as "momentary" switching, not "alternate action".

Whether it's easy or needs a substantial reworking for the pedal to do what you're asking for depends on the specific pedal. Different ones use different ways to get signal switching. If the switching is all wrapped up in one mechanical footswitch, then your problem reduces down to finding a similar switch but with alternate action. That can be easy, difficult and expensive, or impossible, depending on the exact mechanical footswitch. If your pedal uses some form of electronic switching triggered by the switch mechanism, it gets easier, but no more definitive. Each pedal designer dreams up his own circuit for doing bypassing, and the electronic versions may have many different ways of doing this.