Volume pedal that is controlled by exp pedal

Started by Thewoodguy, December 02, 2015, 05:21:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thewoodguy

Hey guys noob here! So I'm wanting to build a buffered volume pedal that is controlled with an expression pedal. I will be using this project as a crash course to building pedals. I have a friend that is going to help me with the schematics and such.

My big question is it seems like instead of using a traditional pot, I should use a ldr type setup. I'm just a bit confused on how they work. If I was to use a 25k pot what ldr would replace that? If any one knows please post some part numbers and simple wiring schematic.

Thanks guys

pinkjimiphoton

look at a morley volume pedal. i think peeps are thrown by the description. you just want a volume pedal controlled by light, right?
25k is pretty low of a value, btw. you need a higher impedance unless it's gonna be between effects or ya may get some tone suck.

but what you're describing, i think, is a morley style volume circuit. it's fairly easy,. you need something to light an led, and an ldr to ground basically. you can almost get away with making it passive. it's pretty simple. hollah back if i'm understanding you.
  • SUPPORTER
"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace."
Slava Ukraini!
"try whacking the bejesus outta it and see if it works again"....
~Jack Darr

Thewoodguy

Quote from: pinkjimiphoton on December 02, 2015, 08:55:03 PM
look at a morley volume pedal. i think peeps are thrown by the description. you just want a volume pedal controlled by light, right?
25k is pretty low of a value, btw. you need a higher impedance unless it's gonna be between effects or ya may get some tone suck.