Look ma, no hands! First completed builds

Started by dbp512, December 06, 2015, 07:13:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dbp512

I've been floating around here for a few months, learning a ton and having fun. Oddly enough the amount of time I spend playing guitar greatly dropped over the same period of time, I wonder why... I'd been focusing on building new circuits and not boxing them up, but the cardboard box I leave them in can only take so much. I bought a few cheaply painted boxes from tayda to serve as a test, and over thanksgiving I stocked up on some beautifully painted enclosures from mammoth. I only ordered 125B, but I really like the size. Not too small, but not cavernously large either. I don't know if its determination or stupidity, but I've always liked the look of top mounted jacks and I wanted to give that a go. Thats caused a few hiccups with the board placement, but I've managed to shove them in place. So, without further ado, here is the amateur eye candy!

The white box is a madbean kraken envelope filter, and the black is a naga viper treble booster. With the envelope filter, I really didn't like placing the switch in the position as a pot, so I decided to use a diamond pattern as opposed to a square. I didn't realize how much of a problem that would cause down the line, which you'll see. Despite the problems along the way, they turned out alright. These are the cheaper tayda boxes, but they look good enough for me. Lets take a look inside, but if you have a weak heart you might want to avert your eyes.