DD-3 Mod Help

Started by Skubator, December 22, 2015, 08:29:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skubator

So tonight I attempted the effects loop mod I found in this post over here: http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?PHPSESSID=47268e2a8809eda4e5fa2e476d2c7991&topic=42738.msg309116#msg309116

I've built a stompbox from a kit, and done a few mods on some of my other pedals successfully, but I'm still pretty new at this whole DIY thing and I'm having some trouble. I've got everything connected the way I think its supposed to be, but it's not working. For one thing, the pedal only works if I have something plugged into the direct out jack. I'm also getting a very loud buzzing sound as well; when I tested it with a guitar, I was able to hear the guitar under the buzzing, but the buzzing was much louder.

So, clearly I did something wrong! Based on what little I know about electronics, the buzzing makes me think that there's some sort of grounding issue involved. Also, something's got to be hooked up to the TRS jack wrong that it won't work without something plugged into it. I'd be more than happy to supply additional information as necessary, and thank you in advance for all of your help!

duck_arse

hello and welcome, skubator.

please be finding and posting the schematic [or links to] of the original pedal, and/or the schem with mods. and then post us some photos of your work, nice and clear shots of your wiring. but not too big, mind.
don't make me draw another line.

Skubator

Noted! I'll post some photos, and the schematic of the exact version of the DD-3 I'm working with tomorrow. It's 6AM where I'm at, so I'm just about to turn in for the night.

Skubator

So! Here are the innards of my DD-3 right now: https://i.imgur.com/xGfBvWw.jpg