TL071 sub for LM741? (noob, non-EE)

Started by Dito, January 04, 2016, 03:04:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dito

Hey gang,

I've decided my next build will be an MXR Distortion+. The vero layout I found calls for the legendary LM741 op-amp chip. In my short experience, I've developed a fondness for shopping at Tayda. However, they don't seem to stock the LM741. Instead, they have the TL071 chip, which someone (?) has tagged as "741".

I checked the datasheets and see that the pinouts are the same. I'm not electrically powered enough to comprehend a datasheet beyond that.

These are both made by Texas Instruments, so they're obviously not atom-for-atom identical. But what would change by using one chip over the other? Anything? Like I said, I can't wrap my mind around the datasheets to understand the differences, and even if I did, I have no clue what effect that difference would make.

I apologize if this is a newbie question, but, well, I'm a newbie.

Thanks in advance for the clarifications.

-Dito
"All that's left of me is slight insanity / What's on the right, I don't know." - Sugar (Bob Mould), Hoover Dam

GibsonGM

Hi Dito,

Yes, go ahead and use a TL071 in place of the 741. It is a better "more high fidelity" chip...faster, better, cheaper (ha ha).  You may think of it as "the 71 can react faster than the 741 to signal changes, and is less noisy".    I think what you may find is that you do not get as much of the "opamp clipping" that the original Dist + had.    I PREFER the 71 for builds like this.  I want my diodes to do the clipping and don't really like OA fuzz...

Let your ears do the proving - but as for pinout and all that, you are safe to simply pop it in as if it were a 741.

:) 
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...