Looking for headphone amp/mixer ideas

Started by bassmannate, January 17, 2016, 08:27:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bassmannate

Hey, guys. I've got a crazy idea for a headphone amp/mixer. I'm looking to mix my bass with mp3/smartphone for practice. I'd like to to have passthrough so I can go out to an amp/FOH console.

I'd also like to have some kind of option to receive a monitor feed from a FOH/monitor console. This is where it gets tricky. I know that Rolls makes a headphone amp that can receive a speaker level signal. Would it be possible to have a separate input that could do all 3? Line level from a console, speaker level from an amp and headphone level from a phone? Even with a selector switch, this would go a long way.

This all comes about because I recently started playing bass at church again after about a 5 year hiatus. During that time, I had worked as the tech director for a church and know what kind of a pain amps on stage can be in such a small setting. Having said that, I have a hard time with not being able to hear myself in a monitor mix and would prefer to be able mix myself in with a monitor feed of some sort.

I've done a little thinking already. For the bass input, I'm thinking a high impedance buffer into a lm386 would work well. The buffer would not only match impedance with the bass but allow me the ability to have a parallel passthrough to go to a direct box or something without worrying about loading. That's about as far as I've gotten though since I still don't completely understand how active mixers work. 

Is this all just a pipe dream? Am I trying to cram too much into a single box?

PRR

> a crazy idea

Sounds sane to me.

> Am I trying to cram too much into a single box?

Ever see a 128 input 16 sub-bus recording console with six separate monitor outputs?

It IS more tricky the more stuff you tie together, but is is all doable.