Waterslide decals - my learning experience (n00b)

Started by Dito, January 19, 2016, 06:24:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dito

For the last two days, I've been burning through Testor's waterslide decal paper. It's not cheap: it comes in packets of six half-size sheets. And learning to work with them has been... well, a learning experience. But I'm finally getting there. These will be only my second and third builds, so please indulge me. I thought I'd write this up for any other newbies.

The "priority" project is a Krampus bass overdrive; building for a friend. It's a kit from General Guitar Gadgets, but I ordered a pre-drilled and pre-painted enclosure from Mammoth. I wanted a nifty design, so I started researching. I studied this guide from the Build Your Own Clone forums in detail.

It took me forever to figure out the difference between Micro SET and Micro SOL. Micro Set is your friend. It works great. I was afraid it would have a bogus chemical smell, but it smells kinda like vinegar. And it tastes just like Diet Mountain Dew. Actually, no, but the smell isn't bad.

Here's a quick rundown of how I (finally) got this to work. All the supplies are from Amazon.

- Scanned enclosure on flatbed scanner
- Placed in Adobe Illustrator at 1:1 scale
- Marked out edges and holes, leaving plenty of space for knobs and washers
- ART HAPPENED
- Figured out how to manually feed paper into my printer (derp)
- Loaded up Testor's Decal Paper, Clear (9201)
- Printed on an ordinary home inkjet printer (Epson 3640)
- A quick spray with Krylon 1306 Workable Fixativ
- Several hours of drying, just to be safe
- Trim with scissors
- Standard water decal application process: soak, slide, carefully position
- Applied Micro Set with a small artist's brush, carefully stroking the edges flat
- Continued applying Micro Set to the edges, trying to get them flat
- Applied even more Micro Set until, at last, the edges were flat and smooth