mosfet follies question are you around RG Keen?

Started by swingarm, January 21, 2016, 04:56:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

swingarm

Greetings!  Forgive me if i have posted this in the wrong area.

I was looking to try this method of driving the power tubes in a bass amp project. the tubes are 4x s11e12's and apparently these tubes do not like fixed bias if you go by forum scuttlebutt .

I bought these locally quite cheap and was told they where quite similar to 6550's and in some ways that seems true but they have a plate dis of 28w max 800v and max screen voltage of 300v. After doing some reading it seems everyone who tried to run these fixed bias failed. The tube data refers to fixed bias so this tube must run successfully fixed bias somehow  :icon_confused:. I assume there could be issues for many reasons that the posters did not recognize or did not disclose. However I have no experience with this tube

Since I have no data to suggest how "hard" the 300Vs rating is, the safest thing is to use a voltage-doubler supply. This will provide the 300Vs and 600Va. Bias is then based on the 300Vs and might require a CF to achieve maximum output power. I thought maybe your Mosfet follower would be a good fit here. I was going to bias each tube  independently so i guess i would need to use 4 devices.

I have a large power transformer with two secondaries  one is 438 -0- 438 with a resistance of 22ohms from one leg to the center tap the other is 330-0-330 with a resistance of 147ohms.

From page 25 of Gar Gillies book it says the mil rating can be estimated up to 200mil with fair accuracy.

I get 438/22= 19.90 x 25 = 498ma for the red wire secondary
    and  330/147= 2.25 x 25 = 56 ma for the brown wire secondary

So another option  Is use the brown secondary for  the screens and preamp, and the red for Va.

Any advice would be appreciated. I've never used mosfets like this before.

swingarm

Here are some tube specs of the s11e12

RATINGS