can i use zener diodes in a muff fuzz?

Started by wyn, February 04, 2016, 05:32:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wyn

i was making a muff fuzz and used 2 zener diodes by mistake( 5239b) it sounds good but ime a bit unsure if it s a problem :icon_eek:

Wyn
No Fuzz= No Fun!

Mark Hammer

1) They shouldn't cause any "problems".

2) The Muff Fuzz is essentially a silicon Fuzz Face with fixed gain.  It produces a fuzzy sound even without clipping diodes.

3) Chances are pretty good that any distortion you currently hear will still be present even ifyou remove those diodes.  Their forward voltage is high enough that you shouldn't expect them to introduce much clipping.

Fast Pistoleros

learning a whole bunch about diodes lately lol

I know the Zeners are designed to operate in the reverse bias mode and they clip anything above approx .7 volts Vf  on the positive side of the wave form

I am still new to the whole diode thing, trying to wrap my whole head around rectifiers and power supplies lol

doing experiments myself, I noticed a llot of circuits work and sound good with the diodes in or out , as if they dont even do anything like Mark said above.  I was hoping to get a different tone out of these GE diodes I had gotten for around a buck a piece. turns out , they didnt make any difference that I could hear. 

Keppy

I'm not familiar with this specific circuit, but if the diodes are connected antiparallel, then each one will conduct forward before the opposite one conducts in reverse. In other words, they behave as regular silicon diodes.
"Electrons go where I tell them to go." - wavley

wyn

https://plus.google.com/u/0/102729661034733473192/posts/5EdUYCV16Q9?pid=6247677750430573058&oid=102729661034733473192

heres the schematic.

i can hear a difference when i use these diodes, compared to the standard 1N914s, which sound good as well.

No Fuzz= No Fun!

MaxPower

Quote from: Fast Pistoleros on February 04, 2016, 09:28:49 PM