Basic (seriously basic) question - UPDATED WITH DEBUG

Started by jatkin16, February 09, 2016, 06:56:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jatkin16

So I've been following the Premier Guitar build your own distortion pedal guide (http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/21291-build-your-own-stompbox?page=1)... Everything worked fine on the breadboard and I have soldered everything up on the perf board (meticulously following instructions), put everything onto the breadboard again (including a LED to indicate power) and it does not seem to work... I'm a complete novice when it comes to things like this; what should I be testing with the multimeter continuity function on the perf board? Thanks in advance.

~arph

Are you using new parts on the breadboard again?
You can fry a transistor when you heat it for too long.

jatkin16

No, I have attached the perfboard to the breadboard.

bluebunny

Welcome!  Read the sticky "DEBUGGING" thread at the top of this forum and report back here.  And take pictures.
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

antonis

If I get it wright, you made a perfboard which doesn't work.. :icon_wink:

If yes, you have to be more specific about "what does what & and what doesn't.."
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

jatkin16

jatkin16

So here's my walk-through from the debugging, as I said, complete novice here so I have no real idea; I'm just following a guide...

1.   It does not work!
2.   PG Distortion build
3.   http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/21291-build-your-own-stompbox?page=1
4.   Y
5.   Y -swapping out of transistor (2N5088 or 89 – can't remember – for 2N3904); changed C1 to 683 and chose own diodes
6.   Negative ground (black to ground)
7.   9.39

Voltages – battery connected to breadboard so I don't know how to measure this?

Q1
C - 0.05
B - 0.02
E - 0

D1
A 0
K 0