Seppuku Space Fuzz - Breadboard layout Debug

Started by digitalzombie, February 26, 2016, 03:27:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

digitalzombie

Hi all. I like to breadboard circuits before I build them. I found a schematic and verified strip board layout for this pedal, so I decided to build a breadboard template in DIYLC. I think I'm going to make this a regular thing.

Anyway, I'm fairly certain my BB layout matches the schematic, but I'm still learning and I'm not getting any sound at the output. Would you mind please looking at this layout against the schematic and let me know if anything looks like I have it wired up wrong?

https://imgur.com/a/94sNN

I should note the only liberties I took in the design was replacing C3, C6 (parallel 33nF) with a single 68nF, and for R6 I didn't have a 560K so the layout shows a 100K and 460K in series (I actually only had a 470K and wrote 460K here by mistake).

digitalzombie

I found some possible errors are Q2. There was an unnecessary link connecting the 68nF to my "R6" (the resistor's in series to simulate the 560K). Figured it would be easier to just bridge the C & B of Q2 with R6 instead of that single space link connecting C & B since that 68nF is already connecting to B. Also, that same link connecting C to B might be causing DC to go to Q2 B through the 10K resistor. Not sure if this would be causing that issue.

http://imgur.com/Ns8IT2X

I made some tweaks to address this, so let me know if V3 here looks better. I'll try it out and test that I haven't fried Q2. Will report back. Thanks.

http://imgur.com/Z6hfBcH

Fast Pistoleros

very cool man, post the final breadboard picture for us when your done, thank you!

digitalzombie

If it works with the v3 layout above I sure will. I'd like to start making it a thing. Everyone loves to share vero and pcb layouts, no one seems to offer up breadboard layouts...

nocentelli

Quote from: digitalzombie on February 26, 2016, 06:57:11 PM