Diode Options

Started by soupbone, March 15, 2016, 05:38:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

soupbone

I was messing with some different diode options using alligator clips.I was wondering if anyone had a couple of diode diagrams.My two ideas were to have 2 different diode combos on a swith using an on-on.The other idea was the same idea,but using a on-off-on swith.That way you have a "no diodes" option.Any links or pic's on how to do this would gladly appreciated.

amz-fx

3 diodes options with the on-off-on switch:

regards, Jack

soupbone

Quote from: amz-fx on March 15, 2016, 07:41:37 AM
3 diodes options with the on-off-on switch:

regards, Jack
Thanks!

thermionix

With the switch in an ON position, are the LEDs essentially "shunted" due to the lower forward voltage of the other diode pair selected?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm still new to this kind of stuff.

Phoenix

Quote from: thermionix on March 16, 2016, 12:36:00 AM
With the switch in an ON position, are the LEDs essentially "shunted" due to the lower forward voltage of the other diode pair selected?

Yes, that's exactly right. When placed in parallel, whichever diode has the lowest forward voltage will conduct before the other, until the forward voltage of the other diode is reached, which won't happen here, the LED forward voltage is much higher than the 1N4148 or 1N34, but can lead to uneven power sharing in power rectifier circuits if you try to use multiple packages in parallel to increase current handling, even if the diodes are the same type, as each junction will have a different tolerance on the forward voltage, so balancing resistors must be used if trying this method. Most of that rarely is of concern with effects pedals though, but definitely something to worry about if building amps.