Resistor question

Started by lapsteelman, March 24, 2016, 04:35:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lapsteelman

I was looking at a pack a resistors I received recently.  They are made by Xicon.

What I noticed is that on this particular pack of resistors the coating that is over the resistor with the color code, ends right at the resistor and you can see were the lead connects into the "body" of the resistor.  They all check fine. The whole pack is like this.

Could this lead to issues down the line or is it just aesthetics?

stallik

I'm no expert so please wait for the real wizards to chip in but it occurs to me me that the chipping which can occur as the leads are bent on resistors with varnish all the way over the leads might be lessened with the ones you describe?
I'd always wondered if such chipping and cracking could extend over the body of the resistor and effect the longevity of the component. I believe that the correct way to bend the leads is not to stress the body but I'm a bit careless in this regard
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein

LightSoundGeometry

Quote from: lapsteelman on March 24, 2016, 04:35:00 PM
I was looking at a pack a resistors I received recently.  They are made by Xicon.

What I noticed is that on this particular pack of resistors the coating that is over the resistor with the color code, ends right at the resistor and you can see were the lead connects into the "body" of the resistor.  They all check fine. The whole pack is like this.

being resistors are only .01 per unit, I would not take any chances if you have to question them and just use nice, fat, new ones with no chips.  this is the reason I stopped buying all those expensive tropical fish caps ,,they crumble like dust if barely fooled with.

GibsonGM

Quote from: LightSoundGeometry on March 24, 2016, 06:07:33 PM