When building a 18v circuit in a breadboard how do I supply power to the buses

Started by Belanger, March 28, 2016, 06:34:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Belanger

I know this is probably a really stupid question but I was wondering I have to use a charge pump circuit as well or if I can actually just build the 18v circuit in the breadboard another way.  I'm really new to all of this so please try to take it easy on me haha
The best substitute for intelligence is silence

Mark Hammer

Absolutely nothing wrong with running two 9v batteries in series.

The thing with charge pumps is they are limited in their current capability, although some can handle more than others.  If one is breadboarding a circuit of unknown current draw, it may be simplest to use batteries, just to be certain that you don't run out of current.

Transmogrifox

+1 Mark Hammer about 2 batteries.  Also you can use 2 9V adapters in the same way.

Connect
Battery#1 "+" to +9V
Battery#1 "-" to GND
Battery#2 "+" to GND (to battery#1 "-")
Battery#2 "-" to -9V

Substitute "9V adapter" for "Battery" above if using 2 9V adapters.

If you intend to use a charge pump in the final pedal, then you may add that in after you have the basic circuit working correctly.  That is a good way to reduce the number of systems that can go wrong.  If the circuit worked before the charge pump but didn't work after, then you know what to look at.
trans·mog·ri·fy
tr.v. trans·mog·ri·fied, trans·mog·ri·fy·ing, trans·mog·ri·fies To change into a different shape or form, especially one that is fantastic or bizarre.

Cozybuilder

Quote from: Transmogrifox on March 28, 2016, 07:59:03 PM
+1 Mark Hammer about 2 batteries.  Also you can use 2 9V adapters in the same way.

Connect
Battery#1 "+" to +18V
Battery#1 "-" to GND
Battery#2 "+" to GND (to battery#1 "-")
Battery#2 "-" to -18V

Substitute "9V adapter" for "Battery" above if using 2 9V adapters.