Complete beginner.

Started by Mattpaddyjones, April 12, 2016, 12:44:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mattpaddyjones

Hi,

Sorry if I've put this in the wrong place. I'm on my first build which is a sho clone from fuzzdog pedal parts and have hit an issue. My board looks neat at the back with no solder touching. I've wired ip the jack sockets and battery as shown but when I plug it in to an amp I get no sound at all. However, if I plug in back to front (amp to input) I get a very quiet signal with no response from the pot. I have no idea what I've done wrong and just thought I'd see if this is (even slightly) a common thing and how to fix it.

Thanks in advance   :D

GibsonGM

Hi Matt, first - welcome!  Glad to have another new person interested in pedal building!  Your experience it totally normal :)

What you're hearing is likely some kind of 'leakage', probably something not soldered to the right place!  Most of what we do is to find where we make mistakes.  It can take some time, but the more you do it, the faster you get at it.

Go over EVERY part and its connections, be sure each part is going where it should...and that the part is the right value (especially resistors!).

Go here and read this - if you have a meter, you can post your voltages back here, too, in the format given:  http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=29816.0     The info you can give from that page will help us understand what's going on.

When you say you built it - was it a perf board, or a strip board....pre-made PCB with the holes all set for each part?  That info can help, too.
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

Mattpaddyjones