Tonepad Coral Chorus bias adjustment

Started by still4given, April 13, 2016, 11:06:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

still4given

Hi Guys,

I'm new here. I have been building Hi-Fi amps for a few years. I been a guitar/bass player since the 60's and never thought about building my own stomp boxes until about a month ago. I found Tonepad and started building them. I built the TS-9 clone and  the BluesBreaker first and both worked great. Then decided to tackle the Corrrrral Chorus. I have it working but I'm not sure how to go about setting the trimpot. I've read that it controls the bias but have been unable to find instructions on how to adjust it. I'm hoping one of your can give me some pointers.

Thanks, Terry

bluebunny

Welcome, Terry.

Looks like that trimmer is only used to set Vb, which in turn is used for biasing the opamps and transistors.  So I would adjust until you see half your power supply appear at the wiper - 4.5V.
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

12Bass

Generally, BBD bias is set by finding the lowest distortion from the output of the delay path and found within a very narrow range on the trimpot.
It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring. - Carl Sagan

bloxstompboxes

I just set mine by ear until it sounded best. That seems to be the same as what 12bass stated. Though, you could use a scope to get it just right.

Floor-mat at the front entrance to my former place of employment. Oh... the irony.

Mark Hammer

1) Feed your chorus the absolute cleanest signal you can, such that distortion from the BBD is not confused with any other distortion.  Running your amp clean and bright is also part of this equation.

2) If you have the means, use headphones, rather than listening in a way that confuses guitar with other sound sources.