How would I wire a DPDT ON ON toggle switch for clipping or bass countour mods

Started by Belanger, April 14, 2016, 04:16:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Belanger

Hey newbie here and I can't find any info on how I would use a DPDT ON ON switch for clipping options and or another one with different capacitor values for bass

It will be modifying a tube screamer and a few other pedals I have. The only info I've been able to find is ON OFF ON DPDT which is really easy to use.  I've ordered some but I'd like to be able to use these switches I already have So they don't go to waste lol

Thanks for the help
The best substitute for intelligence is silence

blackieNYC

For capacitor changes in a filter, a great method can be found in Mark Hammer's Forty Niner, which I think you can find at the Gus Markov site.
An on-off-on switch can give you three different capacitances. Off-only your smallest cap is in circuit. On 1- another cap is added to the first, more capacitance in parallel. On 2- a different cap is added in parallel to the first. Yet another pair of caps in parallel. This is often done at the input series cap.  At the input of the circuit is usually best, but it could also change a cap value on an output tonestack.
If you want to use your on-on switches, you get two cAps to choose from - the extra bass cap and the less bass cap.
Diodes are easier. (You could even use a  SPST) Make a reversed parallel pair.  Attach one end to the circuit - the feedback loop, or clippers to ground. Either way, one end of the pair is loose. Attach this to the switch's center. Attach one of the switches outer contacts to that point in the circuit you wish to connect the diodes. (This would be ground for the clippers, for ex.)  Having one end of the diodes always attached to the circuit and one end loose is not problematic.